6 Local Athletes Awarded at WIAA 2013 Scholar Athlete Program

By  | 

(Press Release) Wisconsin’s 32 top scholar athletes from public and nonpublic high schools have been selected by the Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association. Sixteen senior girls and 16 senior boys from Waukesha to Superior achieved the top combined classroom and sports performances during their four years in high school to be selected as finalists for the prestigious 30th annual 2013 WIAA Scholar Athlete Award underwritten by Marshfield Clinic.

To determine the top 32 finalists, four boys and four girls are selected from each of four WIAA divisions based on both athletic and academic achievement. Seventeen of this year’s 32 WIAA Scholar Athlete finalists have a grade point average of 4.0 to date, while the average GPA is
3.90. All 32 scholar athlete finalists earned a total of 299 letters (an average of 9 letters per athlete) during their first 3-1/2 years of high school.

The 32 scholar athlete finalists were chosen from among 750 seniors nominated by more than 375 high schools in the state. Every year since 1984, each of the WIAA-member high schools has been invited to nominate one boy and one girl for the WIAA Scholar Athlete award. The
average grade point of all Wisconsin student athletes nominated this year was 3.84, and 144 of the nominated student athletes had perfect 4.0 GPAs.

The 2013 WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalists, as well as their families and school representatives, will be recognized at an awards ceremony Sunday, May 5 at the Jefferson Street Inn in Wausau.

Featured speaker will be former Wisconsin Badger and Green Bay Packer Bill Ferrario. Ferrario, a second team All-Big Ten guard, helped the Wisconsin Badgers win back-to-back Rose Bowl Championships in 1999 and 2000 and played two seasons with the Green Bay Packers.
Each 2013 WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalist will receive a medallion and certificate, and will take with them a special plaque for display in their school’s trophy case.

A Webcast of the awards ceremony will be available at www.wiaawi.org during and after the ceremony beginning at 1 p.m. on Sunday, May 5.
All 750 students nominated for the award by their high school athletic director will be presented with a medal at their school in a manner to be determined by the school administration recognizing them as their school’s top male or female scholar athlete.

This year’s list of scholar athlete finalists features these items of interest:

• Of the 750 high schools submitting nominations this year, eight had WIAA Scholar Athlete
finalists for the first time in the 30-year history of the WIAA Scholar Athlete program.

• Waunakee High School has its first WIAA Scholar Athlete—William Freimuth.

• Leah Holmes is the first WIAA Scholar Athlete from Superior High School.

• Joshua Kalmus is the first WIAA Scholar Athlete from Lourdes Academy.

• Hailey Koch is the first WIAA Scholar Athlete from Fall River High School.

• Crandon High School’s first WIAA Scholar Athlete is Hayden Krueger.

• River Valley High School’s first WIAA Scholar Athlete is Seth Liegel.

• Megan School is the first WIAA Scholar Athlete from Wittenberg-Birnamwood High School.

• Jay Tienor is the first WIAA Scholar Athlete from Suring High School.

• Kira Dittman is the ninth WIAA Scholar Athlete from Edgar High School.

• Sophie Olson is the eighth WIAA Scholar Athlete from Washburn High School.

• Austin Bellile is the eighth WIAA Scholar Athlete from Tomahawk High School.

• Tori Winters is the eighth WIAA Scholar Athlete from Flambeau High School.

For more information, visit www.wiaawi.org

2013 Scholar Athlete Finalists

Riley Budde, Beaver Dam—Beaver Dam High School
Willie Freimuth, Waunakee—Waunakee High School*
Carl Hirsch, Brookfield—Brookfield Central High School
Bradley Woodford, Waukesha—Waukesha South High School

Leah Holmes, Superior—Superior High School*
Kayla Janto, West Bend—West Bend West High School
Alison Parker, Neenah—Neenah High School
Paige Skorseth, River Falls—River Falls High School

Austin Bellile—Tomahawk High School
Andrew Klapper, Brandon—Waupun High School
Seth Liegel, Spring Green—River Valley High School*
Bryce Miller, Ashland—Ashland High School

Liz Bloy, Freedom—Freedom High School
Kristen Linzmeier, Hilbert—Chilton High School
Jenna Orr, Rice Lake—Rice Lake High School
Megan School, Wittenberg—Wittenberg-Birnamwood High School*

Joshua Kalmus, Oshkosh—Lourdes Academy*
Eric Kittel, Brillion—Brillion High School
Hayden Krueger, Crandon—Crandon High School*
Mason Mergener, Crivitz—Coleman High School

Allyson Daines, Westby—Westby High School
Kira Dittman, Edgar—Edgar High School
Andrea Ostenso, Ladysmith—Ladysmith High School
Tori Winters, Tony—Flambeau High School

Ben Best, Cable—Drummond High School
Kyle Larson, Clayton—Clayton High School
Austin Schaffer, Hilbert—Hilbert High School
Jay Tienor, Suring—Suring High School*

Aleyna Goerlitz, Withee—Owen-Withee High School
Brianna Jankowski, Wausau—Newman Catholic High School
Hailey Koch, Fall River—Fall River High School*
Sophie Olson, Washburn—Washburn High School