Karty, Ryckman Earn All-American Honors, Krueger Named National Coach of the Year.

By  | 

STEVENS POINT, Wis. -- UW-Stevens Point senior forward Tanner Karty (Oklahoma City, Okla.) and sophomore goaltender Connor Ryckman (Minesing, Ont.) were named as 2019 American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA)/CCM Division III First-Team All-Americans while head coach Tyler Krueger was honored with the Edward Jeremiah Award as the CCM/AHCA Division III Men's Coach of the Year. The honors were announced Thursday night in Stevens Point as part of the championship banquet held at the NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Frozen Four. This marks the sixth-consecutive season in which the Pointers have had an All-American selection.

Krueger was selected Coach of the Year for the first time in his career after guiding the Pointers to the only unbeaten record in the country this season (27-0-2). In his second season at the helm, he holds a career record of 48-6-5 and guided the Pointers to back-to-back Frozen Four appearances. His team's current 29-game unbeaten streak is the longest in program history and is tied for second longest in the NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey records.

Karty closes his career by repeating as a first-team selection after landing the honor in 2017-18. He finished this season ranked first in the WIAC, and tied for 25th nationally, with 35 points, including 24 assists, tied for 19th. Also honored as an All-WIAC first-team selection, Karty recorded 10 multi-point games, including seven in a row. He has scored 19 game-winning goals in his UWSP career, tied for the program record.

Ryckman collected All-American honors for the first time in his career. In his sophomore campaign, the WIAC Player of the Year has made 25 starts in goal with a 24-0-1 record, setting a new program record for most wins in a season. Ryckman comes into the Frozen Four ranked nationally in win percentage (1st, .980), goals against average (2nd, 1.37) and save percentage (9th, .936).

The Pointers will take on Hobart College in the national semifinal Friday (March 22) at 7:00 p.m. at K.B. Willett Arena.