SPASH inducts 2023 Athletic Hall of Fame class

The class is the first to be inducted in three years
The class included 12 individuals and nine teams.
The class included 12 individuals and nine teams.(WSAW)
Published: Apr. 15, 2023 at 10:12 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

WAUSAU, Wis. (WSAW) - For the first time in three years, Stevens Point Area Senior High School welcomed in a new class into their Athletic Hall of Fame Saturday. In all, 12 individuals, nine teams, one coach and one supporter were inducted.

One of the inductees was former WNBA star Janel McCarville. McCarville graduated from SPASH in 2001 after helping the school to a state runner-up finish. She went on to be the number one selection in the 2005 WNBA Draft out of Minnesota and won the 2013 WNBA title with the Minnesota Lynx. After an exceptional career, the induction was all about remembering where it all started.

“I’m very grateful. I’m very humbled that I got this opportunity to be inducted into the Stevens Point Area Senior High School Hall of Fame,” said McCarville. “I spent many good years roaming the halls. Obviously had a great basketball career here. It’s where it all started, lots of good memories and happy to see so many of the people I was associated with back then today.”

Also in the class was Olympic wrestler Ben Provisor. After a great career at SPASH, Provisor went on to represent the USA in the Olympics in 2012 and 2016. He hopes to compete again in 2024, but he’s grateful for the chance to come home.

“It’s an honor to go here. I was lucky enough to have great parents and also other athletes that have come from here to push me to be good so, a great feeling,” said Provisor. “I’m honored to be in it and I’m excited to see where SPASH continues to go.”

Here is the list of the full 2023 SPASH Athletic Hall of Fame class:


1949 Wrestling State Champions

1949 Football Undefeated Champions

1951 Football Undefeated Champions

1955 Boys Track State Champions

1981 Boys Cross Country StateChampions

1983 Boys Cross Country State Champions

1985 Boys Cross Country State Champions

1981 Boys Golf State Champions

1983  Boys Golf State Champions


Clifford “Cliff” Mancheski Class of 1949

Robert “Ducky” Mau Class of 1951

Jerry Miller Class of 1951

Eugene “Butch”  Sorenson Class of 1951

Henry Yetter Class of 1951

Loren Giese Class of 1952

Bob Razner Class of 1952

Ann Okonek Class of 1975

Carla Wasniewski Class of 1979

Ross Kolodziej Class of 1996

Janel McCarville Class of 2001

Ben Provisor Class of 2009


Dean Calhoun-Gymnastics

Friends & Supporters of SPASH Athletics:

Paul Mirman