Corbin Burnes voted finalist for Cy Young Award, Craig Counsell finalist for Manager of the Year

Milwaukee Brewers logo
Milwaukee Brewers logo(Milwaukee Brewers)
Published: Nov. 8, 2021 at 5:16 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

MILWAUKEE, Wis. (WSAW) - The Brewers have multiple people up for the Baseball Writers Association Awards. Corbin Burnes is a finalist for the National League Cy Young Award, while manager Craig Counsell is a finalist for the NL Manager of the Year Award.

Burnes finished with an MLB-best 2.43 ERA, 234 strikeouts and a 0.94 WHIP. Burnes also led the major leagues with 12.6 strikeouts-per-nine innings. The Phillies’ Zack Wheeler and the Dodgers’ Max Scherzer were also finalists.

Burnes would become just the third Brewers pitcher to win the Cy Young award, and first since Pete Vuckovich in 1982. An all-star in the past two seasons, Burnes was also sixth in the NL Cy Young voting last season.

Craig Counsell is in his seventh year as manager of the Brewers. This season, he led the Brewers to a record of 95-67 and the National League Central division championship.

The final results for the NL Cy Young award will be announced on MLB Network on Nov. 17 at 5 pm. The Manager of the Year award will be announced on Nov. 16 at 5 pm.

Copyright 2021 WSAW. All rights reserved.