DNR Bans Burning in 11 Southern Wis. Counties

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

MADISON, Wis. (AP) -- Dry weather has prompted the Department of Natural Resources to impose emergency burning restrictions in 11 southern Wisconsin counties.

The restrictions take effect at 12:01 a.m. Friday.

The ban includes smoking outdoors, all fireworks, and outdoor disposal of ashes, charcoal briquettes, matches or any burning material. Campfires are allowed only at camping areas within a metal fire ring.

The Capital Times reports municipalities with scheduled holiday fireworks are not under the order. But several cities and villages already have postponed or canceled fireworks displays for the Fourth of July.

The counties include all of Crawford, Richland, Sauk, Columbia, Marquette and Green Lake counties, and parts of Iowa, Grant, Dane, Adams and Juneau counties.

The DNR says the ban will stay in place until significant rainfall comes.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@wsaw.com.
Please provide detailed information.
All comments must adhere to the WSAW.com discussion rules.

powered by Disqus
WSAW-TV 1114 Grand Ave. Wausau, WI 54403
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 160738585 - wsaw.com/a?a=160738585
Gray Television, Inc.