2013 NC7 Football All-Stars, Defense

This is the 53rd year for the NewsChannel 7 Football All-Stars, voted on by the coaches of northcentral Wisconsin. Lets meet the 12 players that make up the defensive unit.

We'll start with the big fellas up front.

From Amherst, it's senior COLTON BOELTE. A first-team All-CWC-10 performer, Boelte had 44 tackles, 4 for a loss, 4 sacks and 3 fumble recoveries for the conference champion Falcons.

CALEB BRYANT of Stratford. The senior Tiger registered 62 total tackles, 40 solo, 4 fumble recoveries and a sack for the Marawood Conference co-champs. Bryant was tabbed the Marawood's lineman of the year and first team all-conference.

Big DAVID KORNACK out of Edgar. At 6'5, 264 pounds, the senior takes up a lot of space for the Marawood co-champion Wildcats. Despite battling injuries all season, he was still a first team all-conference choice, Kornack is on the radar for several division one college's.

Next is Mosinee's AUSTIN MCCARTHY. The senior was a unanimous all-Great Northern Conference selection. The 6'5 McCarthy had 64 tackles, 31 solo, 6.5 sacks for the 7-3 Indians.

And last is Merrill's TYLER SCHMIDT, the Great Northern Conference Defensive Player of the Year and first team all-conference. The senior Blue Jay dominated with 59 tackles, 12 for a loss, 3 sacks, 7 forced fumbles and 4 fumble recoveries.

We move to the linebackers now.

Athens Junior SHANE COKER. An All-Cloverwood selection, Coker's stat line is off the charts with 86 tackles, 3 for a loss, 5 sacks, 4 forced fumbles, 2 recoveries, 2 interceptions, 2 defensive touchdowns and a blocked punt, while leading the Blue Jays to a share of its third straight conference championship.

From Medford, JOEY LEONARD. A unanimous all-GNC first teamer, the senior led the Raiders to a 2nd straight conference title. Recording 103 total tackles, 7 for a loss, 3 sacks, 2 forced fumbles and 2 fumble recoveries.

And from Wausau West, it's JAKE WHALEN. Just a junior, he led the Warriors back to the postseason for the first time in 3 years. A first team selection in the Valley Football Association, Whalen had 95 tackles, 60 solo, 4 tackles for a loss and a sack.

To the defensive backs.

JAKE DINKEL from Marathon. The senior was voted all-Marawood Conference first team, leading the Red Raiders to a share of their first conference title since 1993. On the season he had 49 tackles, 5 INTs, 5 passes defensed and a fumble recovery.

Edgar's BLAKE LEHMAN. The only repeat All-Star and a first team All-Marawood selection, opponents avoided Lehman's side of the field this season. He possesses a 38 inch vertical and runs the 40 in 4.50, he had one interception for the Marawood co-champion Wildcats.

From Division 5 state champion Stanley-Boyd is DUSTY SPAETH. A ball hawk for the Orioles, he had 9 interceptions, 3 returned for a touchdown in the playoffs including one in the state title game. Spaeth had 12 passes defensed and 46 total tackles.

And finally, our punter is JOSH HALE from Antigo. Voted all-GNC first team, Hale punted 25 times for the Red Robins for 981 yards, a 39.2 yard average.

Congratulations to the 2013 NewsChannel 7 Football Defensive All-Stars, from all of us at NewsChannel 7.

***Thank you to the following coaches for participating in this year's All-Star voting and keeping the tradition alive that Mark Zelich started in 1961***
Jake Knapmiller, Abbotsford
Andrew Bradley, Almond-Bancroft
Mark Lusic, Amherst
Matt Weberpal, Antigo
Ryan Bargender, Athens
Josh Nagel, Auburndale
Jeff Rosemeyer, Colby
Luke Coenen, DC Everest
Jerry Sinz, Edgar
Jeff Trunkel, Greenwood/Granton
Scott Erickson, Iola-Scandinavia
Mike Mestelle, Lakeland
Chris Lindner, loyal
Todd Stoffel, Marathon
Mark Fredy, Marion/Tigerton
Denny Goettl, Marshfield
Ted Wilson, Medford
Nick Sturm, Merrill
Paul Nievinski, Mosinee
John O'Leary, Neillsville
Paul Michlig, Newman
Eric Swanson, Northland Pines
Terry Laube, Owen-Withee
Steve Raczek, Pacelli
Justin Crandall, Port Edwards
Jim Moore, Rhinelander
Kevin Weiss/Jeremy Brayton, Prentice/Rib Lake
Adam Spindler, Rosholt
Jason Gorst, Spencer/Columbus
Jeff Koenig, Stanley-Boyd
Pete McAdams, SPASH
Jason Tubbs, Stratford
Brian Fritz, Three Lakes
John Larson, Tomahawk
Kevin Grundy, Wausau West
Aaron Doll, Wittenberg-Birnamwood

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@wsaw.com.
Please provide detailed information.
All comments must adhere to the WSAW.com discussion rules.

powered by Disqus
WSAW-TV 1114 Grand Ave. Wausau, WI 54403
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 233516711 - wsaw.com/a?a=233516711
Gray Television, Inc.