2011 NewsChannel 7 Football All-Stars, Defense

By: WSAW Sports Email
By: WSAW Sports Email

51 years running now, NewsChannel 7 has recognized the best football players in northcentral Wisconsin. Time now to meet the defensive lineup for the 2011 NewsChannel 7 Football All-Stars.

We'll start with the first line of defense.

Taylor Kalepp from the Division 5 state champion Colby Hornets. A total of 64 tackles, 2 sacks on the season. An all-state and all-Cloverbelt selection, his coach calls him the Hornets' fastest lineman.

From Mosinee, Kody McHugh.
A unanimous 1st team all-GNC performer, McHugh had 51 tackles, 3 sacks, and 4 knocked down passes.

Marshfield's Trevor Peterson is a repeat selection.
One of the area's biggest disruptive forces, he had 55 tackles, 13 for a loss, 12.5 sacks, 3 forced fumbles, 5 recoveries and an interception. Peterson is the VFA's D-Lineman of the year and a 1st team all-state choice.

Marcus Senn of Wisconsin Rapids.
A first team all-stater, Senn took up a lot of space up front for the red Raiders. He totaled 68 tackles, 2 knocked down passes and a fumble recovery.

Senn's teammate Vince Biegel is an All-Star for a 2nd year in a row at linebacker. The future Wisconsin Badger voted the state's defensive player of the year and a unanimous all-state selection. A tackling machine, had nearly 200 tackles, 17 sacks, 2 interceptions, 2 fumble recoveries and a TD.

Next is Gavin Borchardt from the Edgar Wildcats.
Borchardt had a total of 71 tackles on the season, 7 for a loss to go along with 3 sacks and 2 interceptions on a defense that recorded 7 shutouts.

From Athens, Jayden Dobbs.
The Cloverwood Conference defensive player of the year, lead the Blue Jays to the conference title, the first in school history. He racked up 107 total tackles, 6 tackles for a loss, 3 INT's, 1 forced fumble and 4 fumble recoveries.

The last of our 4 linebackers is Mosinee's Clint Nievinski.
The GNC defensive player of the year and a 1st team all-stater. He dominated for the Indians, 156 tackles, 3 interceptions and 3 blocked punts.

In the secondary is Brady Goska from Wisconsin Rapids.
He started at QB the last two years for the Red Raiders and made the transition to full-time DB this season. Goska totaled more than 100 tackles, 4 interceptions and 3 fumble recoveries for one of the state's stingiest defenses.

From Wausau East is Cody Smoker.
The Lumberjacks were back in the postseason for the first time in 4 years thanks to his defensive prowess. Smoker blocked 5 punts on the year, 4 pass breakups and an interception. Plus, forced a fumble, 2 recoveries including one for a score and 105 tackles.

Kyle Schueller from Edgar.
A playmaker in every sense of the word. 6 interceptions for the year, 4 were returned for a touchdown. He averaged an incredible 51 yards per INT return, add to that 5 knocked down passes and 58 tackles solidifies his spot in our secondary, and also earning him all-state status.

And finally, our punter is Terrin Meyer of Medford.
The senior Raider punted 37 times for 1271 yards. His strong leg helped place five punts inside the 20 yard line, with four traveling more than 50 yards.

Congratulations to this year's NewsChannel 7 Defensive All-Stars, from all of us at NewsChannel 7.

**The All-Stars are voted on exclusively by the coaches of Central and Northcentral Wisconsin. NewsChannel 7 would like to thank the following coaches for participating in the 2011 NC7 Football All-Stars. Without them, this tradition would not be possible.

Jake Knapmiller, Abbotsford
Mark Lusic, Amherst
John Lund, Antigo
Jim Dobbs, Athens
Josh Nagel, Auburndale
Jeff Trochil, Chequamegon
Jeff Rosemeyer, Colby
Luke Coenen, DC Everest
Jerry Sinz, Edgar
Matt Meronk, Elcho-White Lake
Chad Hanson, Greenwood/Granton
Mike Mestelle, Lakeland
Todd Stoffel, Marathon
Dave Jueds & Mark Fredy, Marion/Tigerton
Dennis Goettl, Marshfield
Ted Wilson, Medford
Tom Tourtillott, Merrill
Paul Nievinski, Mosinee
Scott Hilber, Nekoosa
Paul Michlig, Newman
Terry Laube, Owen-Withee
Scott Jacquart, Phillips
Jeff Sullivan, Port Edwards
Jim Moore, Rhinelander
Kevin Weiss & Jerry Shoup, Rib Lake/Prentice
Jason Gorst, Spencer/Columbus
Jeff Koenig, Stanley-Boyd
Cal Tackes, Stratford
John Larson, Tomahawk
Steve Jung, Wausau East
Kevin Grundy, Wausau West
Tony Biolo, Wisconsin Rapids
Chuck Wavrunek, Wittenberg-Birnamwood

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@wsaw.com.
Please provide detailed information.
All comments must adhere to the WSAW.com discussion rules.

powered by Disqus
WSAW-TV 1114 Grand Ave. Wausau, WI 54403
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 134361218 - wsaw.com/a?a=134361218
Gray Television, Inc.