Six Pointers, Head Coach Stacey White Earn WIAC Volleyball Honors

MADISON, Wis. – Six members of UW-Stevens Point volleyball team earned 2012 All-Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference honors and head coach Stacey White was named WIAC Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season after leading the Pointers to back-to-back WIAC titles.

Morgan Bartkowiak (Slinger, WI/Slinger) was named to the All-WIAC team for the second consecutive season. Bartkowiak finished the 2012 regular season second in the conference in total blocks (151) and blocks per set (1.15).

Alexis Hartman (Lake Zurich, IL/Lake Zurich) was also named to the All-WIAC team for the second consecutive season. Hartman placed third in the WIAC in assists with 1,184. She also ranked seventh in blocks per set with 0.85.

Both Christina Brinkman (Bristol, WI/Westosha Central) and Allison Davis (Rochelle, IL/Rochelle Township) earned Honorable Mention. Brinkman, who earned All-WIAC honors a year ago, placed eighth in the WIAC in kills per set with 2.71 and ninth in points per set with 3.25.

Davis led the WIAC in both total blocks (165) and blocks per set (1.31).

Hannah Picel (West Bend, WI/West Bend West) is one of four players named to the WIAC All-Defensive team after leading the Pointers with 4.34 digs per set.

Kati Rau (Dorchester, WI/Colby) was awarded WIAC All-Sportsmanship honors.

Through 12 seasons as UWSP head coach, White has compiled a 212-198 record and two WIAC titles.

The Pointers open the NCAA Division III tournament in St. Paul, Minn. Thursday, Nov. 8 against Northwestern College at 3 p.m.

2012 All-WIAC Women's Volleyball Team
Morgan Bartkowiak (Slinger, WI/Slinger), Stevens Point, Senior, Middle Blocker, Slinger, Wis.
Amy Bomgren, Eau Claire, Senior, Outside Hitter, Woodbury, Minn.
Erin Green, River Falls, Senior, Middle Hitter, Fridley, Minn.
Alexis Hartman (Lake Zurich, IL/Lake Zurich), Stevens Point, Sophomore, Setter, Lake Zurich, Ill.
Stephanie Kirchner, Platteville, Junior, Middle Hitter, Sussex, Wis. (Hamilton)
Leanna Lillge, Whitewater, Junior, Outside Hitter, Ixonia, Wis. (Watertown)
Kate Mikutowski, Stout, Senior, Outside Hitter, Stillwater, Minn.
Emily Neave, Eau Claire, Senior, Setter, Salem, Wis. (Westosha Central)
Kelsey Nobilio, Whitewater, Sophomore, Libero, Johnsburg, Ill.
Kristen Ruchti, Whitewater, Sophomore, Middle Hitter, Brodhead, Wis.
Anne Satterlee, Eau Claire, Senior, Outside Hitter, Green Bay, Wis. (Ashwaubenon)
Mackenzie Suda, River Falls, Senior, Setter, Ham Lake, Minn. (Blaine)

Honorable Mention
Christina Brinkman (Bristol, WI/Westosha Central), Stevens Point, Senior, Outside Hitter, Bristol, Wis. (Westosha Central)
Danielle Cushley, Platteville, Senior, Outside Hitter, Lodi, Wis.
Allison Davis (Rochelle, IL/Rochelle Township), Stevens Point, Junior, Middle Blocker, Rochelle, Ill. (Township)
Keely Deadrick, Superior, Sophomore, Setter, Esko, Minn.
Morgan Denny, Stout, Sophomore, Middle Hitter, Luck, Wis.
Kim Frei, Whitewater, Sophomore, Setter, West Bend, Wis. (West)
Nikki Gosson, Superior, Senior, Middle Hitter, Mankato, Minn. (East)
Brianna Jacobson, La Crosse, Senior, Middle Hitter, New London, Minn.
Larissa Krumplitsch, Oshkosh, Senior, Middle Blocker, Appleton, Wis. (East)
Katelyn Malcheski, Oshkosh, Freshman, Outside Hitter, Little Suamico, Wis. (Oconto Falls)
Jean Theis, River Falls, Junior, Middle Hitter, Shakopee, Minn.
Crystal Ziegler, La Crosse, Sophomore, Outside Hitter, Waunakee, Wis.

All-Defensive Team
Robyn Eggert, Oshkosh, Junior, Libero, Woodridge, Ill. (Downers Grove North)
Kelsey Nobilio, Whitewater, Sophomore, Libero, Johnsburg, Ill.
Hannah Picel (West Bend, WI/West Bend West), Stevens Point, Freshman, Libero, West Bend, Wis. (West)
Courtney Preiner, River Falls, Senior, Libero, Oakdale, Minn. (Hill-Murray)

All-Sportsmanship Team
Salann Gilbert, Superior, Senior, Outside Hitter, Solon Springs, Wis.
Heidi Gors, Oshkosh, Senior, Outside Hitter, Madison, Wis. (Memorial)
Chelsea Mutton, Whitewater, Senior, Defensive Specialist, Rockford, Ill. (East)
Rachel Oldenburg, Platteville, Junior, Middle Hitter, Galena, Ill.
Kati Rau (Dorchester, WI/Colby), Stevens Point, Senior, Outside Hitter, Dorchester, Wis. (Colby)
Megan Shanahan, Stout, Senior, Defensive Specialist, Norwood-Young America, Minn. (Central)
Kayla Slaikeu, River Falls, Junior, Outside Hitter, Eagan, Minn.
Lauren Sutherland, Eau Claire, Junior, Libero, Dayton, Minn. (Meadow Creek Christian)
Chantel York, La Crosse, Senior, Setter, Lake Geneva, Wis. (Badger)

Player of the Year: Anne Satterlee of Eau Claire
Coach of the Year: Stacey White of Stevens Point
Judy Kruckman Scholar-Athlete: Farrah Wirtz of Superior


Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to
Please provide detailed information.
All comments must adhere to the discussion rules.

powered by Disqus
WSAW-TV 1114 Grand Ave. Wausau, WI 54403
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 177560251 -
Gray Television, Inc.