Pointers Roll Past Blugolds in WIAC Quarterfinal

STEVENS POINT, Wis. – Just four days after the UW-Stevens Point women's basketball team defeated UW-Eau Claire in the regular season finale, the Pointers ended the Blugold's season in the first round of the 2013 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Tournament, 67-57.

The Pointers never trailed in Wednesdays game, shooting 44 percent from the field to take a 32-25 lead into the break.

UWSP's largest lead, 10 points, came in the last minute of play as Liz Althoff (Darien, WI/Clinton) knocked down four free throws to secure the win.

Three different Pointers tallied double-digits Wednesday, led by Althoff with 15, including 6-for-6 from the charity stripe.

Sam Barber (Schofield, WI/D.C. Everest/Winona St.) and Alyssa Olp (Brillion, WI/Brillion) scored 13 and 10 points, respectively.

Sarah Bingea led all-scorers with 25 points and eight rebounds.

Third-seeded UWSP will travel to the No. 2 seed UW-Oshkosh on Friday, Feb. 22 for a WIAC semifinal matchup. Tip-off set for 7 p.m.


Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@wsaw.com.
Please provide detailed information.
All comments must adhere to the WSAW.com discussion rules.

powered by Disqus
WSAW-TV 1114 Grand Ave. Wausau, WI 54403
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 192177381 - wsaw.com/a?a=192177381
Gray Television, Inc.