2009 NewsChannel 7 Football All-Stars--Offense

This is the 49th edition of the NewsChannel 7 Football All-Stars. Time now to recognize the 12 gentlemen on the 2009 offense.

And we'll start up front...

with SPASH senior John Banovetz. A stout 5-11, 252 pounds, he helped protect the #1 offense in the Wisconsin Valley Conference that averaged more than 340 yards of offense per game. The first 3-year starter in coach Pete McAdams' 10 years, and the player they always ran behind when the Panthers needed a 1st down.

From Colby, James Beyerl. A guard, the Hornets were able to rush for more than 3,000 yards on the season, nearly 3,800 yards of total offense with him up front. The senior Hornet is one of the fastest linemen Colby's ever had.

Senior Michael Detert of the Merrill Blue Jays. At 6-1, 270, Detert was a 3-year starter. Behind his blocking the Jays averaged 376 yards rushing per game, and he allowed only one sack all season.

From the Division 6 state champion Edgar Wildcats, senior Lucas Mueller. At 6-3, 250, Mueller constantly stood up defenders, creating enough space and time for an offense that produced 651 points in 14 games.

And finally, Frank Vruwink from Wisconsin Rapids. The junior made the transition from the defense for the Red Raiders, and paved the way for more than 1,400 yards on the ground and the Valley Conference's leading rusher.

To the running backs now...

SPASH senior Austin Sikorski. 1,409 yards on the season, an average of almost 8 yards per carry, that included 23 touchdowns. He also caught 9 passes for 152 yards and another 3 scores.

Luke Gajeswki, the first NewsChannel 7 all-star from Newman in over 20 years. The 100 meters state champ used that speed on the field to the tune of 1,576 yards, a 9.3 average, and 17 touchdowns. According to coach Paul Michlig, the most talented offensive player they've had in the last 10 years.

The third running back is Colby's Adam Esselman. The bruising 5-10, 225 back found the endzone 23 times, 1,651 yards at 7.6 yards per carry. His combination of size and speed makes him tough to bring down when he hits the open field.

At receiver...

We've got Ronald Waite from Adams-Friendship. The junior Green Devil caught 28 passes for 583 yards, almost 21 yards per catch for 7 touchdowns. Waite also averaged 32 yards per kick return, taking 3 all the way back for a TD.

From Marshfield, senior Ryan Danczak. At 6-2, Danczak was a big target for the Tigers. He caught 34 balls for 527 yards and 10 touchdowns, and 3 special teams scores, 2 by way of punt, another on a kickoff.

At quarterback, for a 2nd straight year is Edgar's Justin Sinz. Sinz completed 57 percent of his passes, nearly 19-hundred yards, 25 touchdowns only 5 interceptions. He had a record-tying 3 TD passes in the Division 6 championship game.

And the kicker is DC Everest junior Matt Hanson. Coach Wayne Steffenhagen regards him as the best kicker the evergreens have ever had. He converted 28 of 30 extra point attempts, and a perfect 8-for-8 in field goals with a long of 41 yards.

Congratulations to all 12 of these gentlemen, for being voted a NewsChannel 7 Offensive All-Star by our panel of coaches.

***The All-Star teams and Coach of the Year were voted on by coaches of Northcentral Wisconsin. We would like to thank the following coaches for participating once again.

Jeff Marsh/Ron Swanson--Laona/Wabeno
Pete McAdams--SPASH
Andrew Bailey--Almond-Bancroft
Bob Raczek--Pacelli
Kevin Grundy--Wausau West
Kevin Weiss/Jerry Shoup--Prentice/Rib Lake
Scott Hilber--Nekoosa
Len Luedtke--Marshfield
Chris Lindner--Loyal
Todd Stoffel--Marathon
Tom McCormick--Wausau East
Todd Tourtillott--Merrill
Jake Wojciehowski--White Lake/Elcho
Jim Moore--Rhinelander
Tony Biolo--Wisconsin Rapids
Brian Toelle--Amherst
Jim Kuchta--Adams-Friendship
Dave Jueds--Marion/Tigerton
Paul Michlig--Wausau Newman
Chuck Wavrunek--Wittenberg-Birnamwood
Cal Tackes--Stratford
Scott Jacquart--Phillips
Jerry Sinz--Edgar
Jeff Rosemeyer--Colby
John Lund--Antigo
Greg Oestreich--Spencer
Dean McFarlane--Auburndale
Jeffrey Koenig--Stanley-Boyd
Paul Nievinski--Mosinee
Jim Dobbs--Athens
Lee Wyngaard--Port Edwards
Wayne Steffenhagen--DC Everest
Terry Laube--Owen-Withee

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@wsaw.com.
Please provide detailed information.
All comments must adhere to the WSAW.com discussion rules.

powered by Disqus
WSAW-TV 1114 Grand Ave. Wausau, WI 54403
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 73989192 - wsaw.com/a?a=73989192
Gray Television, Inc.