Tucker Named Big Ten Player of the Year

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

MADISON, Wis. (AP) -- Wisconsin's Alando Tucker is the Big Ten's player of the year.

Conference officials say Tucker swept voting by the conference's coaches and the media.

He is the sixth Badger to win the award - and the first since Devin Harris won in 2004.

Tucker was the Big Ten's second-leading scorer at 19.7 points per game in conference play.

He also was the league's eighth-leading rebounder.

Tucker also was named the only unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selection by both the coaches and the media this year.

Tucker was joined on the all-conference first team by fellow consensus choices Adam Haluska of Iowa, Drew Neitzel of Michigan State and Ohio State's Greg Oden.

Purdue's Carl Landry was a first-team choice by the coaches, while Mike Conley Junior of Ohio State was named first team by the media.

WSAW-TV 1114 Grand Ave. Wausau, WI 54403
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 6334842 - wsaw.com/a?a=6334842
Gray Television, Inc.