2013 NewsChannel Boys Basketball All-Stars

By: WSAW Sports Email
By: WSAW Sports Email

The votes have been tallied by our panel of coaches for the 52nd edition of the NewsChannel 7 All-Stars.

Lets meet the 10 gentlemen who make up the 2013 All-Stars, starting with the small schools.

Caleb Glennon of Amherst.
A first team All-CWC-8 selection, the CWC-8 Player of the Year and a Division 4 All-State first teamer, Glennon led the Falcons to the Division 4 state semifinals.
The senior shot 51% from the field, averaging more than 15 points per game, 4.5 rebounds and 3 assists for the 22-4 co-conference champion Falcons.

Auburndale's Austin Hawkins.
A 3-time NewsChannel 7 All-Star, he led the 26-2 Apaches to a state runner-up finish in Division 4 and another Marawood South title.
The senior Apache scored 20 points per game, hitting a blistering 62% of his shots with 8 rebounds while being named D4 All-State, the Marawood South Player of the Year and first team All-Conference.

From Wittenberg-Birnamwood, Mitchell School.
A 1st team all CWC-8 selection, School averaged more than 21 points per game, nearly 6 rebounds, 2 assists and 3 steals for the Chargers.

Collin Seubert of Marathon.
The senior Red Raider was voted 1st team All-Marawood South and first team All-State in Division 4.
Seubert averaged 19.7 points, hitting 49 percent of his shots, 6 rebounds and 3 assists.

And Caden Untiedt from Edgar.
The senior was a 1st team All-Marawood South choice for the Wildcats, shooting 47% from the field, scoring nearly 18 points per outing, 8 rebounds and 3 assists.

To the large schools now.

Trevor Anderson from SPASH.
The freshman phenom is the Wisconsin Valley Conference Player of the Year and a first team all-conference selection.
He scored 20 points per game, hitting 54% of his shots overall including 45% from behind the arc, 89% from the charity stripe, to go with 3 rebounds and 2 assists for the 22-3 conference champions.

Merrill's David Jesperson.
The senior poured in better than 18 points per contest, 10 rebounds while becoming the school's 5th all-time leading scorer.
The senior Blue Jay was tabbed 1st team All-Wisconsin Valley Conference and a Division 2 first team All-State choice.

John Keefe of Medford.
Keefe was the floor general for the 18-5 Raiders, his 7.1 assists per game is 3rd best in the state, and 4th in the state with 4.1 steals and scored almost 17 per game.
He's the Great Northern Conference co-Player of the Year and 1st team all-conference.

From Antigo, Mac Oreskovic.
A 1st team All-Great Northern Conference selection, the senior Red Robin had averages of 18 points, 4 rebounds, 4 assists and 4 steals, hitting 48% of his shots and 86% free throws for 17-6 Antigo.

Finally, Shane White from Rhinelander.
The Great Northern Conference co-Player of the Year and first team all-conference, the senior Hodag is a repeat NewsChannel 7 All-Star.
White led the conference champion Hodags to a 20-3 mark, averaging 17 points, 7 rebounds, 3 assists and 2 blocks while hitting 57% of his shots, 52% from 3-point range and 77% of his free throws.

Congratulations to these 10 gentlemen on being voted a newschannel 7 basketball all-star, from all of us at newschannel 7.

**Thank you to the following coaches for participating in the 2013 All-Stars process. Without them, the All-Stars wouldn't be possible.**

Adams-Friendship, Jered Massen
Almond-Bancroft, Curt Lamb
Amherst, Gregg Jensen
Antigo, Jesse Shaw
Assumption, Gary Weisenbeck
Auburndale, Chad Weinfurter
Bowler, Ted Kietlinski
Colby, Paul Knetter
Columbus, Joe Konieczny
DC Everest, Cory Heckel
Edgar, Jim Heidmann
Elcho, Nicholas Hall
Greenwood, Rob Love
Iola-Scandinavia, Sam Bertsch
Laona/Wabeno, Bill Taylor
Lakeland, Rich Fortier
Loyal, Andrew Behnke
Marathon, Adam Jacobson
Marshfield, Bil Zuiker
Medford, Ron Lien,
Merrill, Kurt Soderberg
Mosinee, Andy Bruess
Neillsville, Nate Ehlen
Nekoosa, Chuck Baldeshwiler
Newman, Jeff Gress
Northland Pines, Ryan Clark
Owen-Withee, Russ Weiler
Pacelli, Brad Rutta
Phelps, Kregg Mueller
Phillips, Trevor Raskie
Pittsville, Dan Hoffa
Prentice, Jerry Shoup
Rhinelander, Derek Lemmens
Rib Lake, Trry Voltz
SPASH, Scott Anderson
Spencer, Randy Reckner
Stratford, Curt Schmidt
Three Lakes, Jack Wales
Tomahawk, Tim Albert
Tri-County, Ron Nelson
Wausau West, Jeff Bruggink
White Lake, Shawn Wickersheim
Wild Rose, Jim Komp
Wisconsin Rapids, Dan Witter
WI Valley Lutheran, Werner Gross
Wittenberg-Birnamwood, Lon Ebel

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@wsaw.com.
Please provide detailed information.
All comments must adhere to the WSAW.com discussion rules.

powered by Disqus
WSAW-TV 1114 Grand Ave. Wausau, WI 54403
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 199058821 - wsaw.com/a?a=199058821
Gray Television, Inc.