2012 NewsChannel 7 Boys Basketball All-Stars

By: WSAW Sports Email
By: WSAW Sports Email

2012 marks the 51st year for the NewsChannel 7 Basketball All-Stars...

Lets meet this year's Boys team, voted on by our panel of coaches.

We'll start with the small schools.

Derek Austin of Stratford.
A first team All-Marawood South selection, the senior Tiger averaged over 18 points per game, hitting 45% of his shots, 37% from long distance, 2 assists and 3 rebounds. Derek led the Tigers to a regional title, and the school's first 20-win season this century.

From Nekoosa, Derek Baker.
The senior was the key ingredient for the Papermakers' 16-8 season their first winning campaign in 9 years. A 1st team pick for the South Sentral Conference, Derek led the Papermakers with more than 18 points, 6 rebounds each time out, to go with 2 assists and almost 2 steals. In his career, he racked up 1,226 total points.

Next is Prentice's Nate Erickson.
A Marawood North 1st-Teamer, Nate helped guide the Buccaneers to a 24-2 record and a conference title. The senior averaged more than 14 points, 8 rebounds and shot 60% from the field.

Auburndale's Austin Hawkins.
A repeat All-Star, Austin is the Marawood South Player of the Year and an All-State selection in Division 4.
The junior hit 65% of his shots for 18 points per game, to go with 8 rebounds and 2 assists for the conference champion Apaches.

And Brian Kraegenbrink from Prentice.
The Marawood North Player of the Year and a Division 5 All-Stater, Brian helped lead the Bucs to a 4th straight regional championship. The senior scored more than 12 points, 6 assists, 3 rebounds and 2 steals, while hitting 81% from the charity stripe...

To the large schools now.

Elliot Ashbeck of Marshfield was voted a Football All-Star back in November, and can now call himself a Basketball All-Star as well.
The senior scored 20 points or more in 13 games, on his way to a 20 point average, with 6.5 rebounds, 3 assists and 2 steals, earning Valley Conference First-team honors.

From Antigo, Jake Erickson.
The senior sharpshooter hit 64% of his jumpers from inside the 3-point line and 38% from behind.
Jake led the Red Robins to a 4th straight Great Northern Conference title with 17 points, 5 rebounds, 2 assists and 3 steals while being named a 1st-team GNC performer.

Luke Heller of DC Everest.
A repeat All-Star, the senior is the Valley Conference Player of the Year and a Division 1 All-State selection.
Luke was an unstoppable force for the Evergreens, averaging 19 points, 10 rebounds, and 2 assists, leading them to their first outright conference title in 42 years.

Lakeland's Matt Iverson took up a lot of space in the middle for the T-birds.
On the season, the 6-10 senior had 14 points, 9 rebounds per game, shooting 50% from the field, and 72% for free throws.

And finally, Shane White from Rhinelander.
The junior led the 17-7 Hodags to their first winning season in 6 years and first regional championship in 8 years. Shane was 1st-team all-GNC, with 14 points, 7 rebounds, almost 2 blocks and 2 steals per game.

Congratulations to the 2012 NewsChannel 7 Basketball All-Stars, from all of us at NewsChannel 7.

**The NewsChannel 7 All-Stars and the Coaches of the Year are voted on by coaches across northcentral Wisconsin. Coaches submit their player(s) for nomination, but are NOT allowed to vote for their own players. Thank you to the following coaches for voting on this year's All-Stars.

Brad Podevels, Abbotsford
Jered Massen, Adams-Friendship
Curt Lamb, Almond-Bancroft
Gregg Jensen, Amherst
Jesse Shaw, Antigo
Gary Weisenbeck, Assumption
Chad Weinfurter, Auburndale
Ted Kietlinski, Bowler
Andy Pilch, Butternut
Paul Knetter, Colby
Cory Heckel, DC Everest
Jim Heidmann, Edgar
Al Dallman, Greenwood
Sam Bertsch, Iola-Scandinavia
Brett Fox, Laona
Ted Voigt, Lakeland
Andrew Behnke, Loyal
Adam Jacobson, Marathon
Ron Lien, Medford
Kurt Soderberg, Merrill
Andy Bruess, Mosinee
Nate Ehlen, Neillsville
Chuck Baldeshwiler, Nekoosa
Jeff Gress, Newman
Ryan Clark, Northland PInes
Russ Weiler, Owen-Withee
Brad Rutta, Pacelli
Kregg Mueller, Phelps
Trevor Raskie, Phillips
Dan Hoffa, Pittsville
Jerry Shoup, Prentice
Derek Lemmens, Rhinelander
Terry Voltz, Rib Lake
Steve Schoofs, Rosholt
Scott Anderson, SPASH
Randy Reckner, Spencer
Curt Schmidt, Stratford
Brad Volkmann, Three Lakes
Nick Desrochers, Tigerton
Tim Albert, Tomahawk
Ron Nelson, Tri-County
Bill Taylor, Wabeno
Jason Teske, Wausau East
Jeff Bruggink, Wausau West
Shawn Wickersheim, White Lake
Jim Komp, Wild Rose
Dan Witter, Wisconsin Rapids
Werner Gross, Wisconsin Valley Lutheran
Lon Ebel, Wittenberg-Birnamwood

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@wsaw.com.
Please provide detailed information.
All comments must adhere to the WSAW.com discussion rules.

powered by Disqus
WSAW-TV 1114 Grand Ave. Wausau, WI 54403
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 144438375 - wsaw.com/a?a=144438375
Gray Television, Inc.