2011 NewsChannel 7 Girls Basketball All-Stars

By: WSAW Sports Email
By: WSAW Sports Email

2011 marks the 50th year for the NewsChannel 7 Basketball All-Stars. Let's meet this year's golden edition, voted upon by the coaches of northcentral Wisconsin.

We start with the small schools, where we have three repeat selections.

Inlcuding Abbie Anderson of Prentice. A Division 5 All-State performer and the Marawood North player of the year. Leading the conference in scoring, rebounding and assists, Anderson led the Buccaneers to their first state appearance since 1993. She averaged nearly 17 points, 10 rebounds, 5 assists and 3 steals per game.

From Marathon, Alex Boehm. She led the Marawood South in rebounding and was 2nd in the league in scoring. On the season, Boehm scored 15 points, to go with 8 rebounds, 3 steals and 3 assists, leading the Red Raiders to 16 wins--their best performance in the last decade.

Another repeat selection is Liz Breu from Auburndale. She led the Marawood South in scoring and shooting percentage, and the season as a whole was better than 13 points and 5 rebounds.
She ends her prep career as the Apaches' all-time leading scorer with more than 1,200 points and 3 regional championships.

Our small school all-stars are rounded out by a couple of Newman Cardinals. Erica Hartke was the floor general for the Division 5 State Champions. She averaged just under 10 points per outing, to go with 4 rebounds, 2 assists and 2 steals.

Hartke's teamamte, Taylor Thomas, is now a 3-time NewsChannel 7 All-Star. The Marawood South player of the year and D5 all-stater, Thomas was a force for the Cardinals with nearly 15 points per game, 5 rebounds and 2 assists while hitting 80-percent from the free throw line. Next year she'll suit up for UW-Green Bay.

To the large schools now...
First up is Amanda Fischer from Wausau West. Fischer's coach credits her overall desire and effort for being the Warriors' leader on and off the court. Fischer had season averages of 9 points, 6 rebounds and 2 steals.

Antigo's Amanda Kessler. The junior was a well-rounded machine for the Red Robins with more than 15 points, 6 rebounds, 3 assists and 2 steals for the GNC's 2nd highest scoring team. She set the school record with 33 points in a game earlier this season.

From Lakeland, Larenda Maulson. The Great Northern Conference player of the year, Maulson led the conference champion T-birds with more than 15 points, 7 rebounds, 2 steals, 1 assist and 1 block. She eclipsed the 1,000 point plateau for her career.

We close out our all-stars with a couple of Marshfield Tigers.

Eleni Seitz helped lead the Tigers to an undefeated Valley Conference title. Her coach credits Seitz for the Tigers' toughness inside, pulling down better than 7 rebounds to go with 11 points.

Fellow Tiger Taylor Varsho is the Valley Conference player of the year, a Division 1 all-state choice and now a 2-time NewsChannel 7 All-Star. Whenever the Tigers were in need of an offensive spark, a defensive stand or an emotional lift, Varsho was there. The junior's numbers are 21 points, 5 rebounds, 3 assists and 3 steals.

Congratualtions to the 2011 NewsChannel 7 All-Stars, from all of us at NewsChannel 7.

Abbie Anderson, Prentice, Senior
Liz Breu, Auburndale, Senior
Alex Boehm, Marathon, Senior
Erica Hartke, Newman, Senior
Taylor Thomas, Newman, Senior

Amanda Fischer, Wausau West, Senior
Amanda Kessler, Antigo, Junior
Larenda Maulson, Lakeland, Senior
Eleni Seitz, Marshfield, Senior
Taylor Varsho, Marshfield, Junior

NewsChannel 7 would like to thank the following head coach for participating in this year's All-Stars, keeping the tradition alive:
Larry Lecheler, Abbotsford
Kevin Vander Laan, Almond-Bancroft
Jay Pitt, Amherst
Daryl Brodziski, Antigo
Joe Birkhauser, Assumption
Rory McKellips, Athens
Corey Manlick, Auburndale
Dale Boruch, Butternut
Randy Rau, Colby
Matt Bullis, DC Everest
Betty Urmanski, Edgar
Chris Skabroud, Gilman
Mark Wester, Iola-Scandinavia
Kellen Anderson, Lakeland
Pat Meyer, Loyal
Jeff Schneider, Marathon
Heidi Michaelis, Marshfield
Scott Wildberg, Medford
Melissa Yuska, Merrill
Sara Kaczor, Mosinee
John Gaier, Neillsville
Tom Weinkauf, Newman
Rick Mai, Northland Pines
Jerry Worden, Northland Lutheran
Al Guthman, Owen-Withee
Jim Pieper, Pittsville
Deb Martin, Port Edwards
Don Anderson, Prentice
Anita Mattek, Rhinelander
David Hauser, SPASH
Dan Brodziski, Spencer
Tom Cowley, Thorp
Brian Morrow, Three Lakes
Shawn Much, Tigerton
Amanda Cushman, Tomahawk
Jayson Jackson, Tri-County
George Maule, Wabeno
Andy Meyer, Wausau East
Pat Galligan, Wausau West
Matt Meronk, White Lake
Bruce Williams, Wild Rose
Dan Hancock, Wisconsin Rapids
Coy Sawyer, WI Valley Lutheran
Mike Balliett, Wittenberg-Birnamwood

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@wsaw.com.
Please provide detailed information.
All comments must adhere to the WSAW.com discussion rules.

powered by Disqus
WSAW-TV 1114 Grand Ave. Wausau, WI 54403
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 118824789 - wsaw.com/a?a=118824789
Gray Television, Inc.