Starting November 1st, many Wisconsin teens won't be able to use their cell phones behind the wheel, even just to talk.
It's part of Wisconsin Act 164 that is now in effect. It prohibits drivers with a probationary or instructional license from using cell phones on the road.
If you're caught breaking the law, you'll be fined up to $40 the first time, and as much as $100 every time after that.
The ban applies to both handheld and hands-free cell phones.
There's one exception though, and that would be if they're calling to report an emergency.
Vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death among Wisconsin teenagers.
Just a reminder, texting while driving is banned for all drivers in the state.
To comment, the following rules must be followed:
Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.
Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Please provide detailed information.
All comments must adhere to the WSAW.com discussion rules.