Governor's Office Releases Names of Applicants for Marathon Co. Sheriff

By: WSAW Staff Email
By: WSAW Staff Email

A local Police Chief, a retired Police Chief, a Criminal Justice Instructor, and several within the Marathon County Sheriff's Department and other law enforcement agencies are among those who would like to be the next Marathon County Sheriff.

The Governor's office released the names of the applicants who have applied for Marathon County Sheriff. Governor Scott Walker will appoint the new Sheriff within the next several weeks.

The appointment will fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Sheriff Randy Hoenisch. The new sheriff will begin serving upon appointment and will complete a term ending January 5, 2015.

An applicant must reside in Marathon County at the time the appointment becomes effective.

Marathon County Sheriff Applicants:

1. Gale Baerenwald

2. Brian Fiene - Criminal Justice Instructor at NTC

3. Joel Flewellen - Wisconsin Rapids Police Lt.

4. Herbert Gies

5. Frank Hanousek Jr. - Marathon County Sheriff's Dept. Lt.

6. Daniel Joling - Kronenwetter Police Chief

7. Dale Knapp - Merrill Police Dept.

8. Sean McCarthy - Marathon County Sheriff's Dept. Det.

9. Ryan Miller

10. Ebert Nitzke

11. Scott Parks - Marathon County Sheriff's Dept. Chief Deputy

12. James Reist

13. Gary Schneck - Marathon County Sheriff's Dept. Lt.

14. Benjamin Seidler

15. Scott Sleeter - Everest Metro Police Dept. Captain

16. Ralph Sliwicki

17. Stephanie Stilen

18. Daniel Vergin - Former Everest Metro Police Chief

19. Dale Wisnewski - Marathon County Sheriff's Dept. Lt.

20. Harlyn Woodward - Marathon County Sheriff's Dept.


The process is expected to last several weeks.

Click here to read more about Hoenisch's retirement.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to
Please provide detailed information.
All comments must adhere to the discussion rules.

powered by Disqus
WSAW-TV 1114 Grand Ave. Wausau, WI 54403
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 202752981 -
Gray Television, Inc.