ELECTION AUTHORITY: Spiros Wins Democratic Primary for 86th Assembly District

By: Al Knox Email
By: Al Knox Email

With nearly 86 percent of precincts reporting the Associated Press has declared John Spiros of Republican primary winner of the 86th Assembly District.

As of 10:30 p.m., Spiros has 60 percent of the vote with 3,639 to Wayne Thorson's 1,370.

The seat was opened after former 86th Assembly Representative, Jerry Petrowski was voted into the State Senate in the recall election.

Spiros, a current Marshfield city council member, says he has more than enough leadership experience for the position. "My past eight years as an elected official, my time in the Air Force. Also, my time has given me the opportunity with my public and private experience. That knowledge can make me the person to get down to Madison and hit the ground running."

Spiros will take on Democratic challenger Dennis Halkoski, who is a retired Everest Metro Police Detective.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@wsaw.com.
Please provide detailed information.
All comments must adhere to the WSAW.com discussion rules.

powered by Disqus
WSAW-TV 1114 Grand Ave. Wausau, WI 54403
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 165627476 - wsaw.com/a?a=165627476
Gray Television, Inc.