Four Counties to Jointly Operate W-2 Programs

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Dane, Dodge, Marquette and Sauk counties have been providing W-2 services separately through their human services departments.

Dane County Executive Kathleen Falk says state officials have accepted the counties' $14.7 million proposal to jointly operate the W-2 program for 2004 and 2005.

The state allocated nearly $20 million among the four counties to operate W-2 during the previous two-year contract period.

W-2, also known as Wisconsin Works, requires adults to work or get job training in exchange for a check and subsidized child care.