Tomah VA “Hall of Heroes” Seeking Nominations

By: WSAW Staff
By: WSAW Staff

(Press Release) The Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center in Tomah is seeking nominations for its Hall of Heroes.

The facility will honor two Veterans selected to the “HALL OF HEROES” at a dedication ceremony on Friday, Nov. 9, at 10 a.m., in conjunction with the facility’s Veterans Day program.

A large wooden plaque that includes the color seals of the five branches of military service and the wording “Hall of Heroes” is displayed on a main corridor wall between Buildings 400 and 401. Two Veterans are honored with a framed photograph and information about their personal awards and citations for heroism or valor. This is a continuing tribute, with two new Veterans added each year.

The induction criteria: Veterans should have been decorated with a personal award and/or citation for heroism or valor. Awards are reviewed and authenticated with a release form signed by the Veteran to authorize the required verification. Awards will be ranked following military ranking, i.e., Congressional Medal of Honor being the highest possible decoration. Multiple awards for bravery, receipt of a Purple Heart and prisoner of war status will also be considered.

Veterans currently in the Hall of Heroes are:
• Einer H. Ingman, Jr. of Tomahawk, Wis., inducted May 2005
• Kenneth E. Murphy of Necedah, Wis., inducted May 2005
• Robert W. Teeples of Black River Falls, Wis., inducted February 2006
• Wilbert “Bill” Sorenson of La Crosse, Wis., inducted February 2006
• John Steele of Sparta, Wis., inducted November 2006
• Mitchell Redcloud, Jr. of Black River Falls, Wis., inducted November 2006
• Joseph B. Kube of Tomah, Wis., inducted November 2007
• Robert M. Roth of Lyndon Station, Wis., inducted November 2007
• Peter Quirin of Sparta, Wis., inducted November 2008
• Henry Weinberger of Tomah, Wis., inducted November 2008
• Steven Pappas of Grand Marsh, Wis., inducted November 2009
• Robert Witzig of Fennimore, Wis., inducted November 2009
• Peter Wirth of Spring Grove, Wis., inducted November 2010
• Leonard Jasinski of Chippewa Falls, Wis., inducted November 2010
• John I. Gerzel of Warrens, Wis., inducted November 2011
Tomah VA Medical Center
500 East Veterans Street
Tomah, WI 54660
• Ronald R. Niles originally of Mauston, Wis., inducted November 2011

Submissions of potential honorees are being sought from individual Veterans, county veteran service officers, service organizations and others. This will be an on-going project, so submissions can be sent at any time. Submissions for the consideration of the Hall of Heroes committee should be sent to:

Scott Farley, Public Affairs Officer
Tomah VA Medical Center
500 East Veterans Street
Tomah, WI 54660

Each submission should include copies, not originals, of awards and citations, a completed authorization for verification form, and a completed submission coversheet.

In order to be considered for the November 9 induction, nomination packets are due at the medical center by October 19, 2012.

The Hall of Heroes serves as a reminder of the hardships and bravery our Veterans have endured for our nation.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to
Please provide detailed information.
All comments must adhere to the discussion rules.

powered by Disqus
WSAW-TV 1114 Grand Ave. Wausau, WI 54403
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 173510801 -
Gray Television, Inc.