New Wisconsin Drivers Soon Can't Use Cell Phones

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email

There's a new law in Wisconsin that prohibits new drivers from using cell phones.

The law goes into effect Thursday, with fines of $20 to $40 for a first offense and $50 to $100 for a subsequent offense within a year.

According to The Reporter, the law applies to drivers with an instruction permit or probationary license. It also applies to new state residents with fewer than three years of experience and new residents under the age of 21.

Bryant Halverson, owner of New Direction Driving School in Lomira, says the law creates additional safety measures to help law enforcement stop irresponsible drivers.

As of September, the Governor's Highway Safety Association notes that 32 states and the District of Columbia ban cell phone use by novice drivers.


Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@wsaw.com.
Please provide detailed information.
All comments must adhere to the WSAW.com discussion rules.

powered by Disqus
WSAW-TV 1114 Grand Ave. Wausau, WI 54403
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 176177301 - wsaw.com/a?a=176177301
Gray Television, Inc.