Maintenance crews made quite the find last month in Eagle River while working to remove the old wing Ministry Eagle River Memorial Hospital.
Inside the original cornerstone of the building, workers discovered a metal box containing items and information from two eras- 1961 and prior, when the original hospital opened and from when the hospital expanded in 1983.
Items in the time capsule included tickets to fundraising dinners to help build the hospital from 1955, a bank book from 1955 in which the original fundraising efforts began, and a campaign pledge card from 1959. Other items included a Western Union telegram from 1956, a letter from a donor who gave one dollar in 1955, and notes from a 1959 campaign meeting.
Some of the unique items found included a donation can from 1955 which was placed at local businesses around Eagle River. “Buy a Brick to Help the Sick” sales packets were found, and an “Aunt Jemima doll” was included. The dolls were made by a group of woman in 1956 to be sold during a pancake fundraiser.
Items from the 1983 addition consisted of a 1982 penny, a Time Magazine from 1983, an edition of the Vilas County News-Review, hospital brochures, an application for expansion of Eagle River Memorial Hospital (ERMH) services from 1981, a letter from hospital administrator Charles E Reevs, and a cranberry fruit nut bread recipe.