FEMA Approves Aid for 8 Wis. Counties, Tribe

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email

MADISON, Wis. (AP) -- Gov. Scott Walker's office says federal officials have declared eight Wisconsin counties and an American Indian tribe recovering from June flooding are eligible for federal disaster aid.

Gov. Scott Walker last week requested aid for 11 counties and the Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa. His office announced on Thursday that FEMA has issued a major disaster declaration for Ashland, Bayfield, Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Richland, St. Croix and Vernon counties as well as the Red Cliff. The declaration allows local governments in those jurisdictions to apply for money to offset repair costs.

Dane, Rock and Sauk counties were included in the governor's request but Walker's office says those counties didn't sustain enough damage to qualify for federal assistance.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@wsaw.com.
Please provide detailed information.
All comments must adhere to the WSAW.com discussion rules.

powered by Disqus
WSAW-TV 1114 Grand Ave. Wausau, WI 54403
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 218913031 - wsaw.com/a?a=218913031
Gray Television, Inc.