2013 NewsChannel 7 Girls Basketball All-Stars

By: WSAW Sports Email
By: WSAW Sports Email

The votes are in from our panel of coaches. Time now to meet the 10 ladies that make-up the 52nd edition of the NewsChannel 7 All-Stars.

We start with the small schools.

Edgar's Holly Denfeld is a repeat all-star selection.
The senior Wildcat shot 53% from the field, 18.5 points per game, 8 rebounds, 2 steals, 2 assists and a block while being named Marawood South first team and the conference co-Player of the Year.

Neillsville's Jenny Lindner appears on our all-star team for a 2nd straight year.
The junior led the Warriors to the Division 3 state semifinals, another Cloverbelt East championship while being named all-conference and Player of the Year.
A Division 3 All-State first teamer, Lindner averaged more than 15 points, connecting on 48% of her shots, 4 rebounds, 3 assists and 3 steals for the 26-1 Warriors.

Jaimee Pitt from Amherst is now a 2-time NewsChannel 7 All-Star.
The junior is a Division 4 all-state selection, CWC-8 Player of the Year and an all-conference performer for the 20-5 Falcons.
Her 5.3 assists average is 8th best in the state, to go with 18 points, 3 rebounds, 3 steals and a block, shooting 44% from the field and 75% of her free throws leading the Falcons to a share of the conference title.

From Assumption, junior Mary Sigler.
She led the Royals to their first WIAA State Championship while being named all-state in D5, was the Marawood South co-Player of the Year and a 1st team all-conference performer.
Sigler averaged over 17 points per game, 5 steals, 2 assists, 3 rebounds, hitting 51% of her shots, and 81% from the charity stripe for the 28-1 D5 State and Marawood South Conference champions.

Finally, Monica Verkuilen from Wittenberg-Birnamwood.
The senior led the Chargers to a share of the CWC-8 championship, a 20-4 record while being named an all-CWC-8 performer.
Verkuilen scored 15 per game, 5 steals, 3 assists, 3 rebounds and shot 47% from the field.

To the large schools now...

Medford's Katie Messman.
She's the Great Northern Conference Player of the Year and all-conference selection.
The senior guided the Raiders to a share of the GNC title, leading the way with 13 points, 3 assists, 3 steals and 3 rebounds and hitting 40% of her 3-point attempts for the 15-8 Raiders.

Emma Roenneburg from Adams-Friendship.
Just a sophomore, she led the 20-3 Green Devils to the South Central Conference crown while earning all-conference and Player of the Year honors.
Selected to the Division 3 all-state team, Roenneburg poured in 16 points, 9 rebounds 4 assists and 4 blocks per game.

Another sophomore makes our team, Jasmin Samz of Wausau West.
Samz led the warriors to a share of their first Wisconsin Valley Conference title in 32 years and a 14-9 mark, netting 15 points per game, 5 rebounds, 3 assists and 3 steals.
She's a 1st team all-Wisconsin Valley Conference performer and the conference co-Player of the Year.

The other Wisconsin Valley co-Player of the Year is Merrill's Renee Sladek, despite a knee injury in mid-January that ended her season.
The junior is a repeat All-Star.
When healthy,Sladek was an unstoppable force for the Blue Jays at 18 points, 8 rebounds, 2 steals, 2 assists and 2 blocks.

And finally, from SPASH, Heather Woyak.
The senior Panther scored better than 13 points, 3 assists, 5 rebounds and 2 steals for the Wisconsin Valley co-champions.
She was chosen as first team all-conference for the 17-6 panthers.

Congratulations to these 10 ladies on being voted a 2013 NewsChannel 7 Basketball All-Star, from all of us at NewsChannel 7.

**Thanks to the following coaches for participating in this year's All-Stars process. Without them, this would be successful.**

Abbotsford, Gary Gunderson
Adams-Friendship, Loren Ebert
Almond-Bancroft, Roger Young
Amherst, Jay Pitt
Antigo, Dennis Duchac
Assumption, Joe Birkhauser
Athens, Danielle Diedrich
Auburndale, Liz Nagel
Bowler, David Graves
Columbus, Bryan DeVries
DC Everest, Matt Bullis
Edgar, Betty Urmanski
Gilman, Chris Skabroud
Iola-Scandinavia, Mark Wester
Lakeland, Kellen Anderson
Loyal, Mike Rueth
Marathon, Jeff Schneider
Marshfield, Heidi Michaelis
Medford, Scott Wildberg
Merrill, Melissa Yuska
Mosinee, Tom McCarty
Neillsville, John Gaier
Newman, Tom Weinkauf
Northland Pines, Larry Bergum
Northland Lutheran, Jerry Worden
Phillips, Sarah Socha
Rosholt, Megan Boldig
SPASH, David Hauser
Spencer, Dan Brodziski
Stratford, Betsy Miller
Thorp, Tom Cowley
Tomahawk, Amanda Duncan
Tri-County, Terry Tinkle
Wausau East, Andy Meyer
Wausau West, Pat Galligan
White Lake, Matt Meronk
Wisconsin Rapids, Dan Hancock
WI Valley Lutheran, Coy Sawyer
Wittenberg-Birnamwood, Mike Balliet

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@wsaw.com.
Please provide detailed information.
All comments must adhere to the WSAW.com discussion rules.

powered by Disqus
WSAW-TV 1114 Grand Ave. Wausau, WI 54403
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 199253391 - wsaw.com/a?a=199253391
Gray Television, Inc.