Big Ten Turning Itself Into a Laughing Stock

Not sure what the suits for the Big Ten are thinking.  The new logo looks like it's bad art from the 80's.  Calling the football divisions "Legens" and "Leaders?"

"Coming up next, it's a showdown for Leaders supremacy..." or  "Up next, its a Legends showdown..."

That is so lame.

How about naming the divisions after Bo Schembechler and Woody Hayes.  At least then you'd still be honoring the legacy of the Big Ten.  Or as someone else said, the Great Lakes and the Plains divisions.

Sorry, but the Big Ten is no longer a brand name.  How often will we hear, "the Big Ten plus two," or "The Big 'don't call us 12' Ten."  It's time to come up with a new confernece name.  Then again, if their line of thinking will be like the "Legends" and "Leaders" then leave it alone.

And then there's the 18 trophies that will be handed out every year.  18?!  And each trophy has two names with it, so as to honor 36 different people from the conference.  I'll give you the trophy names down below. 

Am I alone in this?  The Big Ten made a splash by adding a school like Nebraska, and they've since watered it down in my opinion.

Until next time...


Here are those trophy names I promised you:


Stagg-Paterno Championship
Trophy Amos Alonzo Stagg, Chicago
Joe Paterno, Penn State

Grange-Griffin Championship Game MVP
Harold Edward “Red” Grange, Illinois
Archie Griffin, Ohio State


Ford-Kinnick Leadership Award
Gerald R. Ford, Michigan
Nile Kinnick, Iowa

Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian Award
Tony Dungy, Minnesota
Anthony Thompson, Indiana


Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year
Otto Graham, Northwestern
Eddie George, Ohio State

Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year
Bronislau “Bronko” Nagurski, Minnesota
Charles Woodson, Michigan

Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year
Wayne Woodrow “Woody” Hayes, Ohio State
Glenn Edward “Bo” Schembechler, Michigan

Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year
Darrell Thompson, Minnesota
Antwaan Randle El, Indiana

Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year
Dave Rimington, Nebraska
Orlando Pace, Ohio State

Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year
Charles Aaron “Bubba” Smith, Michigan State
Courtney Brown, Penn State

Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year
Bob Griese, Purdue
Drew Brees, Purdue

Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year
Alan Ameche, Wisconsin
Ron Dayne, Wisconsin

Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year
Jack Tatum, Ohio State
Rod Woodson, Purdue

Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year
Dick Butkus, Illinois
Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern

Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year
Pat Richter, Wisconsin
Desmond Howard, Michigan

Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year
Ted Kwalick, Penn State
Dallas Clark, Iowa

Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year
Jim Bakken, Wisconsin
Morten Andersen, Michigan State

Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year
Thomas Dwight “Dike” Eddleman, Illinois
Brandon Fields, Michigan State

Read More Blogs

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to
Please provide detailed information.
All comments must adhere to the discussion rules.

powered by Disqus
WSAW-TV 1114 Grand Ave. Wausau, WI 54403
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability
Gray Television, Inc.